Jumat, 12 Desember 2014

Things to Remember

I realize Grace�s birthday post didn�t include all of the awesome things she can do now that she�s one! Since I�m using this blog as a way to remember her milestones, let�s take a look at what she�s up to these days.

MAAM. MAMAMAMAMA.
She�s a babbling fool. Things she can say:
MAMA
MAAM
(These three comprise about 99% of her vocabulary, and they are delivered at the decibel equivalent of a jet engine.)


The other one percent =
Banana, All done!, Hot, Elmo, Ball, Dada, Grandma, Grandpa, Georgia, Ga Gah! = Go Pack!, (She says this while clapping her hands, for every sporting event on TV, or if she sees the �G� logo on a shirt or out at a store.  To say I�m proud would be a mild understatement.), and Doctor.  ?

And sleep? She finally does it.  FINALLY.  The last month she has given us a consistent 8-hour stretch, sometimes 10 hours, and sometimes 12 hours!  Sometimes she wakes up around 5 am because she needs a hug, and I�m not even mad because how sweet is that? Plus, she goes back to sleep, by herself!  

She�s moved into a bigger car seat now that she�s putting on some inches and lbs.  She hardly grew at all between her 10 month and one year appointment which, of course, probably isn�t a big deal, but my recommendation to you would be to NOT VISIT WEBMD if this happens to your child. We�ve stopped nursing (more on this in a moment) and she is drinking whole milk in the hopes of increasing her caloric intake.  She prefers it from a bottle -- the same bottle that she refused between the ages of 4 and 11 months.  That Grace, she�s got a special way of doing things.

She loves music, dolls, animals, and Georgia is her absolute best friend, although Grandma might be tied for BFF status.  She already loves to make believe all sorts of things, which is SO fun. She can make all sorts of animal sounds, and the latest one added to her repertoire is monkey. She loves music, especially playing the piano and singing.  She�s got a special hand signal where she taps her pointer and middle finger against her thumb and that means SING! She can walk most anywhere she wants to go, but she's still a little unsteady.

These boots were made for walking!

We enjoy going to the library for toddler time and, like her mother, she prefers to watch all the other people than actually pay attention to the stories.  She�s got her first baby-stalker�let�s call him Tommy to protect his identity�and whenever Tommy sees Grace he makes a beeline for her and gives her a giant hug.  Tommy is about 18 months old and I�m not exaggerating when I say he weighs 35 pounds.  Tommy is a tank. He�s a gentle giant, though, and he always says �baby, baby� as he gently puts his arms around Grace�s shoulders. Grace graciously accepts the hug while glaring at me like she kind of gets how amusing it is, and demanding I make it stop.  I cut Tommy off after two hugs, usually.  This week, as Tommy was toddling across the carpet to get his hug fix, another woman said under her breath, �Oh God here he comes.� How funny is that?! I can hardly blame little Tommy.  She�s so cute and cuddly, I want to hug her too.



Now since this post is functioning as a sort of a  journal, I want to remember my experience with stopping nursing, just in case I am crazy blessed enough to have another baby. Mostly, it hasn�t been that bad.  Grace likes to point at my chest and say, "All Done! All Done!" which makes me a little sad and a little amused.  I've felt a little blue, a little sore, a little angsty, a little hormonal.  Ok, a lot hormonal. Like this. Anyway, future self (and other recent post-lactating moms), the mean streak only lasted a day and you came back to your normal, patient, clumsy self.   The angst, the chills, the soreness, they are all tapering off, but the bittersweet feelings of putting the baby in her crib awake, without your sweet, special time�

I�ll let you know when those pass.




Rabu, 03 Desember 2014

This is what one year looks like

8:38 am, 365 days to the minute.  Happy Birthday, dear Grace!

I am truly embarrassed at how long it has taken me to write this post.  Actually, I'm truly embarrassed how long it's taken my husband to dump/cull/edit/upload the photos from our camera to his computer so I could access them for this post, but no one likes a...
I asked him to finish that phrase for me and he said, "actually, he had to dump/cull/edit/upload them, and he works full time, and he's a busy dad, and we went to a Badger game, and there was a holiday..." so, you see how things roll around here.  Eric, I have mad respect for you, but no smoke-blowing will happen in this blog post.
No one likes a whiner would suffice.  I digress. 



My baby is one.  I have had her for a full calendar year.  I want more. I can't get enough.

Here are some highlights from party central:
ONE singular sensation, every little step she takes.....

Thank you, Grandpa Giant, for the huge giraffe and matching baby which will require an addition to our house.

And thank you, Hobby Lobby for 50% off craft supplies.

Grace Noelle shares her special day with her auntie Eden Noelle.  We celebrated these two beauties with a trip to one of our favorite cafes for lunch, and followed it up with birthday cake after dinner.
I am so lucky to have both these girls in my life, and I'm still so giddily astounded that they are birthday buddies.

iPhones make great gifts, Grandma.













Pinterest ain't got nothing on me.
Eric and I do our best to keep added sugars out of our daughter's diet... thus, we really debated what kind of cake to give Grace for her first birthday cake smash.  I was going to bake a low sugar, applesauce-laden lame-ass birthday cake for her...but after much hemming and hawing, I ran out of time...and thank gawd I didn't actually take the precious time to make her a cake because she was NOT.INTO.IT.  At all.



Actually, Grace had two birthday parties, one on Saturday to celebrate with her out of town family, and one on her real birthday with those who live close by.
Auntie Al, this bib's for you.


Bitty Baby got the best reaction ever!
I kid you not, she took her first steps at her first birthday party!























Elmo, for the win.

We have come a long, long way this year.  There are moments where I wish we could go back, just for a minute, just to remeber how it all started...but then I look into her big, curious eyes and know that the best is unfolding right before me.  And I am ever so grateful.

I mean, c'mon.

Kamis, 20 November 2014

Mom On the Go

Right now I�m sitting in the Detroit airport.  Alone.  Well, not really alone, there are hundreds of people milling about and 20 or so at the caf� I�m sitting at.  Ok it�s a bar.  But there�s a caf� immediately adjacent and the only open outlet was at the bar and mama�s laptop needs constant juice.  Mama needed juice too, and debated between the espresso shot or the Griffin Claw IPA to get through the mid afternoon slump.  I�ll let you guess which one won.




I digress.

I�m alone, in that for the first time in basically forever, I�m away from Grace. Forever meaning 381 days, or, the totality of her lifetime. (In truth she�s been alive 382 days but I spent one night away from her back in May. And it was painful. Physically. Boobs. Mentally and spiritually it was refreshing. Thanks Megs.)

You see, I�m going back to work this year. My work takes me away from home for a few days at a time, and I cant decide if that�s a blessing or a curse.  I think it�s a blessing.  I think it�s easier to leave and be gone for four days than have to leave every.single.day.  But I�m not sure.  I�ll let you know.

The days before this trip have been wrought with some major freaking ANXIETY.  Ultimately I know everyone will be fine.  But I just can�t shake the feeling that I�m abandoning my child.  I texted a dear friend who has a similar job asking her to give me a pep talk that I CAN do this, and she put it so poetically when she said, while Gracie will be fine, �walking out the door goes against every instinct you have.� So true.  Is that instinct right? Should I listen to it? Does it need to be kept in check?  The pre-mom version of Erin would have been like, suck it up lady, the kid has a dad and it�s important to let the dad be a dad and blah blah blah.  But the mom version of Erin �gets it.� I get it, fellow moms! Grace was once a part of my body, and while she hasn�t been a part of me for a while, she�s still always with me, and now she�s not and I feel like I�m missing something.  And certainly she�s going to be missing ME because I�m always there and OHMYGOD am I damaging her precious spirit? Have I abandonded her?  Is she going have issues for the rest of her life because of this? No.  Idiot.  But it feels that way.  Because I am the one who has been there every day and knows how she eats and what toys she likes today and which books to read. There�s no way she will survive without me!  She�s not going to have any fun! Yes she will.  Idiot.

Am I a mother or a 15 year old girl? smh. (that's for you Al. And Jess)

And now I�m here, in Detroit, halfway to my destination and you know what?  I�m okay.  So is my kid. I�m kind of enjoying the fact that I can read a magazine and eat caramel corn and go to the bathroom without having to pray the whole time that Grace doesn�t fall/tumble/crash down the hall/stairway/babygate. But in the midst of my enjoyment, I have this nagging feeling in the back of my brain. Guilt.  Let�s open a new can of worms, shall we? As if the abandonment weren�t enough, enter THE GUILT. In this moment, I�m happy, and I feel a little bit guilty about it because I�m not sure if I�m just a happy person who loves life, or if I�m happy because I�m away from my kid, messy house and piles of laundry. What kind of happy am I?  Maybe a blend of both? Tell me, fellow moms, that it gets easier to reclaim your identity, independent of your child.  Tell me that time makes it easier.  I know who I am without Grace but I haven�t been her for a four day stretch in a loooong time and I�m having a hard time finding my footing.  I like myself.  I like my job.  I love being a mom.  The mom piece of the pie has been the biggest one for a long time, and will probably be the biggest one forever.  But at some point, it has to enhance who I am and not strictly define who I am. 

It�s almost time to board my next flight, so I�ll ruminate these things from 50,000 feet and maybe ascending into the heavens will depart some divine wisdom into my brain and I�ll come down with all the answers.  If not, I�ll keep on keeping on, knowing my baby is in the best of care with her dad, who is at home, doing the toughest job of all. 

Minggu, 02 November 2014

November 3rd is a popular day to be born

Since it's birthday week at our house, I am going to share with you my favorite story from the day Grace was born.  It might be one of my most favorite stories ever.

This was the last time she ever slept this soundly until last week.
In order to fully appreciate how funny this story is, you need a little background information.  Eric and I moved into our house in 2009, so we lived here five years before Grace was born.  Our street is quiet, and while our neighbors are very neighborly, everyone keeps to themselves. A friendly wave is about as much interaction as we have on a regular basis.


Last October, Eric was outside raking when he noticed our neighbor (let's call him Mr Neighbor) was  outside raking too.  Eric is a friendly guy and it dawned on him that he had never formally introduced himself to Mr Neighbor. So, he set down his rake, walked across the street, and shook hands and officially met Mr Neighbor.  They exchanged pleasantries, and Mr Neighbor remarked how he noticed we were expecting a baby and his family was very excited for us.  He talked a little bit about his family, his son and daughter who were high school and middle school aged, and commented that their last baby was a bit of an "oops."  Eric laughed and said he had bought girl scout cookies from their daughter and that she was a very nice young lady.

What a lovely meeting.  A meet-cute, really.

Let's fast forward to the wee morning hours of Sunday November 3rd, 2013. I had been admitted to the hospital shortly after midnight, and just after we got settled in we heard a baby wail. Eric and I looked at each other, kind of giddy with anticipation, and I thought, welcome to the world little one!

Grace was born about eight hours later, and if you're curious about the details of the next few hours, feel free to read yesterday's post :)

Sunday night, my mom and sister (who also happens to be born on November 3rd!) were visiting us at the hospital.  Eric left to refill my water and see what was happening on the maternity floor.  He came back in our room with the craziest, most amused and perplexed look on his face that I have ever seen. I'm asking him right now to tell me the next bit, since he was the one who actually lived it:

"I was on my way back to the room and there was a long stretch of open hallway.  When I turned the corner, I saw a man and his young daughter. When I got closer, I knew it was our neighbor. (Mr. Neighbor!) I was so happy. I was confused, but just so happy he came to visit us.  Bemused even.  This is so surprising.  How did he figure this out, that we were here?  Did someone post it on social media or something? And as I start smiling, he also starts smiling. "What are you doing here?" I asked.  His daugher had a gift, and I started to reach out to take it and also started to shake his hand as he replied, "Same thing you are!" and he motioned to the room next door to ours.  "Yeah, my wife gave birth to a baby boy last night, just after midnight!"
"What the f?" I thought. And I realized I had to pretend to know what was going on while I digested this information.

And then it dawned on me.  Our conversation this fall was really about his baby who happened to also be born on the same day our baby was born."

Eric shared this story with the three of us and we all kind of stared at each other and giggled and whispered incredulously since they were immediately next door to us.  There are so many funny things about this -- Eric trying to take the gift, how nuts he must have seemed when he implied their daughter was an oops when Mr Neighbor was very clearly talking about his new son, how Eric thought they were coming to see us at the hospital even though they had only met once. 

OUR NEIGHBORS HAD A BABY ON THE SAME DAY AS US AND WE DIDN'T EVEN KNOW THEY WERE EXPECTING ONE.

Does this make us the least observant, worst neighbors in the history of the world? Yes. Do we care since it gives us one of the most hilarious and bizarre stories for our cocktail party small talk arsenal?  No.

We still mostly keep to ourselves on our street, but we always wave when we see our birthday buddy coming and going with his sweet family who gave us the kind of story you can't even dream up.

Happy birthday, baby oopsie neighbor, happy birthday.

Sabtu, 01 November 2014

November 2nd

The other day someone asked me how old Grace is.  I replied, �She�ll be one on Monday!�  Except, it didn�t come out like a nonchalant, factual answer�it was like a half choked-out sob covered by a semi hysterical laugh, �SHE�LLBEONEONMONDAY!!!!� I sounded like a donkey.

Cutest. Baby. Ever


The emotion of that statement caught me completely off guard and surprised me (once again) at how poignant, how visceral it is to be a mom.  It really got me thinking.  Many things.

1.  This past year has been the most profound year of my life.
2.  I�ve always had a lot of feelings but I might be a little more cooky than I thought.

I�m sitting in my living room now, surrounded by the debris from Grace�s birthday party, and I�m reflecting on the day she was born.



November 2nd, 2013.  The Badgers played Iowa. We decided to take advantage of our last Saturday afternoon as just a couple, since I was going to be induced on November 6thif Gracie decided she didn�t want to be born before then.  We were going to go out for coffee, maybe see a movie, pick up a few essentials to really be �ready� for Grace�s arrival. 

As we were making these plans, a small voice in the back of my brain said, �hey dumdum, you�re not doing anything today.  You feel that tightening in your belly?  That�s called a contraction. Don�t believe me? Here�s another one.�

I willfully ignored that voice because I WANTED ONE LAST DAY.

First stop on our last day?  Drop Georgia the dog off at her Grandma�s.  The tightening in my belly was getting a little more intense, but I paid it no heed.  I�m a tough cookie.  And I wanted movie theatre popcorn.  While we were chatting with my mom and sisters, I mentioned that I was having some contractions, but we were going to go have some fun, just a couple of crazy kids on a Saturday afternoon. My mom noticed my hands curling around the countertop as I was explaining how fun it was going to be to see one last movie just the two of us.  And she, sensei Karen, said, �you�re having a baby today.�   As soon as the words were uttered, the gauntlet was dropped and I realized holy sh*t, I am in labor.

The next hours were a blur�coffee date? Sure let�s try it. Nope can�t drink that get it out of my face.
Maybe we should time these contractions?
Shopping? Sure let�s try it. Fail.
There�s a contraction app? There are multiple contraction apps?  I don�t give a #@%& which app you choose just pick one and TIME THEM!
Sure, let�s watch a movie, I can totally focus on something for three minutes and then I�m going to have to focus on my contracting uterus.
SERIOUSLY TURN DOWN THE VOLUME HOW MANY DIE HARDS ARE THERE AND WHY IS HE STILL ALIVE AFTER ALL THAT SHOOTING? TURN IT DOWN! 

It was after midnight when we went to the hospital.  The nurse checked me (4cm dilated!) and I was admitted. The whole thing was surreal�I was so paranoid about being sent home that once I finally got admitted I didn�t really know what to do with myself.  Luckily I had an awesome nurse who talked me into an epidural (after 2 hours of contractions with no progress. What am I some kind of masochist?) and shortly after the epidural kicked in, I was almost at 10cm and we were on the fast track to meet Gracie.

The next few hours were busy for me (Eric fell asleep a few times. I was pissed and amused and pissed again.) while I worked hard to meet my girl�3 hours of pushing.  3 hours.  And you know what?  I loved every second of it.  No seriously. I really think giving birth is fun.  I loved the adrenaline, the pure physicality of it, how high the stakes are.  It was invigorating and amazing and I am so glad I got to experience it. After 24 hours of labor, 3 hours of pushing, at 8:38 am Grace Noelle came into the world with a cry that dissolved me into a fountain of tears�relief, joy, anticipation--every feeling I�ve ever felt, I wept it that morning.  The nurses placed her on my chest and I said, �she looks like Nana!� and I cried again, and looked at Eric and he was crying and the nurses were smiling and I felt like I had just done the most important job my body could ever do.  I remember nursing Grace right away and thinking I was so glad to hold her but maybe could I just have a minute without someone touching me/monitoring me/sticking needles in me so I could catch my breath? And God laughed and was like, not for the next year or so, sweetie. 

I remember every time the nurse brought her to me at night she was wide-awake and so serene and I called her bright eyes. I swear I saw something divine when I looked into those newborn eyes, and I was transformed.

 

And now, a year later, I�m so happy to celebrate this charming, adorable, hilarious little girl who has taught me what life is really all about. I want to sear everything about her into my brain, but tonight, I really want to make sure I remember how it all started.

Not only was a baby born on November 3, 2013. So was a mother.



Sabtu, 25 Oktober 2014

This is what 11 months looks like

You know how annoying it is when you type something on your computer and then you go back to check on it and your computer has turned on you, decides what you've written is garbage and now it's gone?  That happened to me last night.  I hate that.  So, round two.

11 months! What are your thoughts about how to refer to a baby's age after it turns one. I think I can still get on board with the month by month, like, "she's 16 months." But I think I draw the line after 19 months.  20 months?  What, you gonna card her next month? I digress.  Back to 11 months.



I thought she could say "Mama" before...she can really say it now, in all its beautiful (and sometimes trying) derivatives.  Mamamama, Mama, MAAM.  Dadadadada is coming along nicely, and it's usually delivered in a much softer, sweeter cadence.  Funny, that.  She tries to mimic every sound we make...."Pppp" for pumpkin (which she is obsessed with) and earlier she pointed to a banana and I said, "banana?" and she replied, "nanya."  I squealed and gave me a big toothy smile, like,  "I talk now!"  She loves to sing and if she taps her two hands on her chest in a steady beat that means, "SING ME A SONG," (twinkle twinkle, please) compared to tapping her chest quickly and randomly which means, "I want that."  And then she points and we go get it. She babbles in a way that is so conversational it makes me almost burst with curiosity.

She loves to sit in the corner of a couch or a big chair and flop around, feeling her body supported by pillows and cushions.  She likes to lay her head waaaay back and look at things upside down. She is so flexible and loves to sit in the splits and grab her toes...I've been doing yoga for over 10 and I don't have anything close to that kind of flexibility. She loves to give hugs and kisses, blow kisses, give high fives...the other day Eric and I were sitting together on the floor and Grace was playing by herself (a rare occurance.  She likes a playmate.  All the time.) when she crawled over to Eric and gave him a kiss on the cheek, and then grabbed my face and kissed me too. Out of the blue.  I cried. She loves us!  All this stuff we've done for the past 11 months, it's actually meant something to her--  enough to actually show us, for no particular reason, that she loves us.  Amazing.

Almost walking.

I am constantly aware of how far we have come this past year.  The first year of life is a huge, huge transformation.  A friend of mine had a beautiful little boy earlier this month, and when I went to visit her in the hospital I was instantly taken back 11 months, back to the hospital bed, the annoying IV line, the pleasant and oh so helpful nurses, and I realized how much everyone changes in a baby's first year.  The first days and weeks are a constant state of feeding, changing, sleeping (IS SHE STILL BREATHING?!) and then gradually you morph into practicing sitting, practicing reaching, practicing rolling, and then they actually are sitting, reaching, rolling, crawling, standing, talking!  All in less than 365 days.

I left the hospital more than a little happy to return to my big baby and to not have to live life in two hour increments, and I felt like I took the first true deep breath that I've taken in almost a year.  We made it. What we started in a cozy little hospital room on a cold November day 11 months ago has transcended my wildest expectations and thoughts on what "would be," and now we have settled into what it actually is. You see, I went into parenthood approaching it like another skill I could master with some careful planning and preparation. I read ALL the books on infant development, sleep cycles, diapering ideas... I was going to be prepared for this baby and I was going to DO IT RIGHT BECAUSE I AM AN ACHIEVER! You know what? I sold those dumb books at my garage sale last week.  They were stupid and they pissed me off.  Grace didn't care what the well-intentioned but idiotic "Baby Whisperer" says about what kind of schedule she should have been on at 4 weeks old. She will develop at her own pace, she will eat when she's hungry, and she will sleep when she's tired.  It's really that simple.  But for this type-A-over-achiever-must-do-this-well-because-I-like-to-do-everything-well gal it was a big, hard, trying lesson to learn.  Where's my gold star? Where's my progress report?  Did you know babies don't give gold stars?
They just are the gold star.

Minggu, 19 Oktober 2014

KOREA INDONESIA FILM FESTIVAL

Hi! 
Apa yang kamu lakukan akhir pekan ini? 
Apakah kalian have fun
aku harap kalian have fun, 
karena aku sendiri baru selesai belajar untuk ujian besok� 
Doakan aku bisa mengerjakan ujian Teknik Pembuatan Akta-ku dengan baik ya.. 
dan begitu juga dengan tanganku setelahnya� 

Ini bukan nulis draft novel lho
tapi lagi latihan buat akta untuk ujian besok.  
wish me luck ya! 


Back to main topic!
KOREA INDONESIA FILM FESTIVAL� 
acara ini adalah salah satu alasan kenapa aku rela untuk les korea di Korea Culture Center yang berada di Equity tower, di Sudirman. 
Selain dapat tiket acara for free *Yang akan aku post kapan-kapan dan aku yakin kalian aku iri banget~*, aku juga pengen dapet informasi tentang film festival ini. 

KOREA INDONESIA FILM FESTIVAL ini akan di adakan pada tanggal 23 sampai 28 Oktober di Blitzmegaplex. 
Jadi antara-antara tanggal tersebut, kita bisa untuk menonton beberapa film korea dan indonesia for free�. asik banget kan! 

Dulu untuk mendapatkan tiketnya harus pergi dan daftar di KCC Indonesia di Equity Tower, 
tapi sekarang jadi berubah dan jadi sistematis karena sekarang kita bisa dapetin tiket dengan cara langsung datang ke Blitzmegaplex yang bekerjasama dengan acara ini. 

Dari pengalaman aku pesan tiket di Blitzmegaplex-nya sendiri, 
satu orang bisa untuk mendapatkan 4 (empat) tiket secara gratis dan hanya perlu untuk memberitahukan petugas blitzmegaplexnya nomor handphone kita. 
waktu aku ke Blitz, aku mengajak kakak ku dan alhasilnya kita dapet 8 tiket for free.. 
enak banget kan.. 
ayo buruan� 

film Indonesia yang bisa kamu tonton secara gratis adalah: 
1. 5cm;
2. 9 Summers 10 Autumn;
3. Habibie Ainun;
4. Sang Penari. 

Sedangkan film Korea yang bisa kamu tonton secara gratis adalah : 
1. Confession; 
2. Miss Granny; 
3. Mr. GO; 
4. No Tears for The Dead; 
5. Pororo : The Racing Adventure; 
6. Roaring Current; 
7. Secretly Greatly; 
8. Snow Piecer;
9. The Spy; 
10. The Target; 
11. A werewolf boy.


Dari beberapa film Korea itu, 
aku dapat tiket gratis untuk Mr Go, Miss Granny, 
dan Secretly Greatly 

Dari pilihan11  film korea yang ditayangkan untuk Film Festival ini, yang pernah aku tonton adalah Roaring Current dan a Were Wolf boy.  Kedua film itu sangat aku rekomendasikan. 

Buat teman-teman yang tertarik untuk berpatisipasi di acara ini a.k.a nonton gratis, 
infonya bisa kamu cari tahu lebih lanjut di link bawah ini : 

Ah! Buat yang mau lihat lee kwang soo 
kamu bisa main ke Grand Indonesia Mall 
tanggal 23 Oktober 2014 
di acara opening Korea Indonesia film festival ini. 

19 . Oktober .2014 
@ Rumah Wortel III. 

Kamis, 16 Oktober 2014

YANG AKU DAPAT DARI MAGANG


Fuuh�
Fuuh�.  
Aku niupin debu dari blog ini, 
maaf ya teman-teman kalau sudah lama sekali aku enggak menulis di blog ini. 

Alasannya enggak berubah, yaitu sibuk kuliah dan menulis�.  
tapi alasan menulis ini benar lho! 
sudah ada novel yang aku kirimkan ke Gagas Media dan penerbit lainnya. 
Doakan diterima ya jadinya teman-teman bisa membaca tulisanku selain Secret Admirer. 
Rencananya kalau tulisan aku yang ini berhasil di terbitkan, aku mau mengikuti saran-saran dari penulis senior lainnya, yaitu membuat Fanpage di Face Book. 
Semoga Jadi kenyataan!  
*Amin*

Balik ke judul post-an ini! 
yaitu tentang Yang aku dapat dari magang,  tentunya selain ilmu praktek kerja Notaris PPAT dan uang jajan tambahan ya�
Ehehe�. 


Bagian lain yang aku suka dari Kantor Notaris 
setiap beberapa hari sekali, bunganya di ganti� 
wangi sekali�

1. BERSYUKUR AKAN KEADAAN AKU SEKARANG. 

Jujur waktu aku memulai magang, ada sedikit masalah yang menimpah diriku. 
Aku jadi sering menangis dan berpikir kenapa jadi begini sih? Kenapa datang sekarang? Kenapa aku harus lanjut kuliah dan enggak bekerja saja? Pokoknya�, aku terus menyesali kehidupan yang sudah aku jalankan.  Lalu akhirnya aku masuk magang dan bertemu dengan banyak orang di tempat kerjaku. 

Di tempat aku bekerja, banyak anak-anak yang berusia di bawah aku sudah bekerja sebagai tukang bersih-bersih kantor. Melihat keadaan mereka aku jadi lebih bersyukur dengan keadaanku sekarang waktu itu, bahkan sampai sekarang. 
Sebenarnya selama ini aku sudah tahu kalau diriku sangat beruntung. Aku lahir pada keluarga yang rukun dan berkecukupan. Lalu akupun bisa mendapatkan pendidikan dari salah satu tempat yang baik di Indonesia. Aku selalu tahu betapa beruntungnya aku. 
Tapi selama ini hanya tahu tapi tidak benar-benar merasakan dan mengucap syukur kepada Tuhan. 
Jadi saat magang itu, mata hatiku terbuka. 
Aku jadi sadar betapa beruntungnya aku, bahkan walaupun masalah itu masih tersisa tapi aku merasa aku bernasib baik. Bahkan sampai sekarang aku berpikir seperti itu. 
Terima kasih Banyak Tuhan! 



Hadiah perpisahan yang aku berikan 
kepada orang-orang yang bekerja di Kantor Notaris itu. 
Buat kenang-kenangan. 


2. SETIAP ORANG MEMILIKI MIMPI YANG BERBEDA. 

Ada lagi pencerahan unik yang aku dapatkan saat aku magang adalah Setiap orang memiliki mimpi yang berbeda. 
Selama ini aku pikir kalau setiap orang harus dan pastinya memiliki mimpi yang setinggi lagi bahkan tembus dari langit kalau bisa  *saking tingginya.* Namun saat magang ini aku jadi sadar kalau orang boleh kok punya mimpi yang sederhana dan ternyata kebahagiaan saat mencapai mimpi sederhananya itu juga membuat dirinya bahagia. 

Jadi ceritanya saat aku magang, ada satu cewek yang sudah menikah dan lagi hamil. Umurnya sama dengan aku dan pendidikannya SMA. Sebut saja namanya 'Melati' *ihihi* 
Si Melati ini, kalau menurut aku, pekerjannya rapi dan smart, sifatnya tegas dan kerjanya sangat efisien dan cepat. Dimata aku dia tipikal orang-orang yang akan berhasil suatu hari nanti. 

Dan tidak bisa membohongi kenyataan, saat ini anak yang hanya lulus SMA akan sulit untuk kerja di kantoran, padahal dia cocok untuk pekerjaan itu. Jadi aku tanya ke si Melati, kenapa dirinya enggak lanjut ke pendidikan S1? 

Lalu dia jawab, iya sih banyak yang suruh aku begitu. Belajar lagi dan kerja di kantor, tapi gimana ya? sekarang ini aku udah bahagia. Aku udah jalanin hidup yang aku ingini, aku lulus SMA, kerja di tempat yang layak, nikah, dan jadi istri juga ibu yang baik. Aku udah puas kok. Jawab dia. 

Lalu aku terdiam. 
Aku jadi tahu, ternyata mimpi orang itu beragam. 
Ada yang mau bermimpi tinggi dan berusaha keras mencapai mimpi dia itu. 
namun juga ada orang yang bermimpi sederhana dan damai dalam mimpi sederhananya itu. Menurut aku pribadi enggak ada yang salah dan semuanya benar, yang penting orang itu bahagia.  

Jadinya aku enggak lagi memotivasi dia untuk lanjutkan pendidikan.
karena toh dia sudah hidup di mimpinya dan bahagia. 


3. NANTI AKU AKAN MENJADI NOTARIS SEPERTI APA. 

Dalam keluargaku tidak ada yang pernah bergerak di bidang hukum. Tidak ada satupun dalam silsilah keluargaku yang bekerja sebagai lawyer, pengacara, ataupun Notaris. 
Jadi aku sangat buta dengan pekerjaan-pekerjaan di bidang hukum ini dan karena itulah aku magang, untuk tahu bagaimana kerja notaris. 
berdasarkan pengalamanku bekerja di kantor Notaris ini, aku ingin menjadi Notaris yang disegani bukan ditakuti oleh para karyawanku.
walaupun karyawanku sudah banyak, aku ingin aku tetap berada di Kantor dan mengetahui semua akta yang keluar dari kantorku. 
semoga aku bisa jadi sosok yang aku idam-idamkan ya� 

*sekalilagi AMIN!* 

17 Oktober 2014 
@ Rumah Wortel III 

Senin, 06 Oktober 2014

Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead

About a month ago, Eric, Grace and I took a trip to Detroit for business. My business. Eric was responsible for Grace during the day while I went to work.  A complete role reversal.  They had a great time together while doing lots of sightseeing and field trips. When we would meet up at the end of the day, Eric was quick to praise the job I've done with Grace and quick to pour himself a glass something strong. I get it. I reaaaallly get it. Babies will take everything you got, and still want more.  He also remarked, almost everyday, how much attention he got for being a dad.


I'm literally asking him to describe what it was like right now: people came running to meet his needs. They didn't just look at him, they smiled at him, like they could tell he is a super guy. A real catch. "I'm not imagining this.  When I was in Guess, I had four girls helping me.  And everyone else in the store was ignored."

My husband is an attractive, charismatic dude, and my baby is adorable. I'm not surprised that people give them a little extra attention.  Grace gets a lot of attention when I bring her places. What's different about our experiences, I think, is that people treat Eric plus Grace as a novelty instead of a norm. Oh he's being a dad! How cute!  


About a week ago, we were out with friends for dinner, and one of our friends asked Eric if he's going to be playing basketball this season. ("season." It's legit.  I'm basically a baller wife.)  Another one of our friends, a bit under his breath, said, "I don't think he has permission..." in kind of a, don't bring it up tone.  I don't think anything personal was meant by this comment, but it stung a little.  Like, I am The Mom and I don't give little Eric permission to go out and play basketball with his little buddies.
Now, the reason the aforementioned friend doesn't think Eric has permission to play basketball is because when Eric was initially asked to play and started to agree, I had to interrupt because of a schedule conflict. Eric has guys' night on Wednesdays, and I get to embrace my inner show choir geek all by myself on Thursday nights. It's my one thing a week that is built into my schedule, and as Eric was almost agreeing to play basketball on my night, I felt I had better remind him -- "I have choir on Thursdays!"

I know about a million of you reading this are saying, "I'll help! I'll watch Grace on Thursdays!" Awesome!  Maybe Eric will take you up on that offer.  But starting at 5:30 on Thursdays, I get a few hours to myself, and I don't have to think about finding a babysitter, or waking the baby if she takes a late nap to get out of the house on time, etc etc etc.  I like knowing that at 5:30, I can just go and trust my partner, my baby's dad, to take care of things.  Whether that's going for a walk and watching football together, eating dinner and watching football together, or taking her to her grandparents so he can play basketball and then watch football together (with the boys) -- any and all of these options are fully supported by this mom -- Dad's in charge, and I don't even have to think about it.

And then, two days later, the Packers killed the Vikings on Thursday night football. While the announcers filled airspace, they discussed Christian Ponder's new baby and how Ponder will be "babysitting" this weekend because his wife works as a reporter for ESPN.

Hold up. Can we please consult our old friends Miriam and Webster to find the definition of the word babysit?

"To care for children usually during a short absence of the parents."  

Wikipedia, what say you on the topic of babysitting?

"Babysitting is temporarily caring for a child...The majority of time, babysitting workers tend to be in middle school, high school or college." 

Do you see where I'm going with this, folks? Christian Ponder is a dad. A parent. NOT THE BABYSITTER. This is 2014. As much as I love Joan Holloway, I didn't know I was living on the set of Mad Men. People have asked me, especially in the early months when I was out in public away from Grace, "is Eric babysitting?"  It takes everything in my power not to FREAK OUT and throw a dictionary, but I usually just remark that yes, he is caring for his daughter and yes it is nice to be out and about.  Is babysitting a misunderstood term?  Maybe.  But no one has ever asked Eric if I was home "babysitting" our baby.

I felt bad for Mr. Ponder, not only because he's Christian Ponder, but also because the announcers didn't give him credit as a new parent, and reduced him to a babysitter. His football skills might be comparable to someone in "middle school, high school, or college" but as a Dad, I bet he's great.

So what's the take away here? Stop undermining the dads. Dads are vital to the parenting equation.  I know the first few months it's mostly all about the mom and baby bond.  I get that. I also get that it's really intimidating to care for a tiny person!  I understand that many times, the mom takes to it in a way that seems natural (even though it's hard!), while the dad struggles to keep up, and occasionally, gives up. And can you blame the guy? Not if he's being reduced to a babysitter. Not when ladies at malls and zoos and parks fawn over dads with babies like they are exceptional. Not when guys just "talk like guys" and set up moms to feel like a wet blanket.  And definitely not when 30 million people hear that a dad is simply babysitting, when, really, he's going to work his ass off as a single parent for the weekend.  As a society, I think we need to change the language we use when we talk about dads and babies.  Dads aren't babysitters.  They are dads.  They are protectors, providers, snugglers, diaper changers, squash-feeders, toe-ticklers, and itsybitsy spider players.  Dads do all of these things well, and they do them differently from moms. They are not part-time care givers.  They are DADS.
"Now this is role reversal." - Grace
 I am fortunate my husband tunes out what society says and regularly shows up as a dad.  We made the decision to have a baby together, and we share the responsibility of raising Grace together.  Just like the house we bought together, the cars we bought together, and the purses we bought together. Now...is it Thursday yet?

Rabu, 01 Oktober 2014

This is what 10 months looks like



At the end of this week, I will have an 11 month old baby, which means I'm going to blink, and we will be celebrating her first birthday.  What strikes me about this is that everyone who meets Grace now, for the first time, will only know her as a big baby, a mini person who can actually do stuff.  Sometimes I want to say to these new people, hang on a sec, let me bring you up to speed.  You see, just mere days ago she was really small and I had to carry her everywhere and she didn't ever sleep and I went a little nutty and then she rolled over for the first time when she was three months old! And she sat up so early, and she could wave bye-bye when she was four months old! Then she started pulling herself up on all fours, and then, it took awhile...but she crawled! Look at her now, she's almost ready to walk!  

But that's the sort of rant that gets you labeled as the "crazy mom." I know you get it, though, fellow parents, or really anyone who is invested in the life of a baby. They change SO FAST, that just when you get one stage under some semblance of control, they change the game on ya, yet again. And I feel that warrants an explanation, somehow. Like, my baby has been so many different babies this year, you really are just meeting the most recent version of her. There is a lot more than meets the eye with this one!

Ok crazy.
But I know you get it.



What happened in month 10-11? A LOT. She can communicate with us in ways that are so much easier to understand, and she definitely knows what she wants. And usually what she wants is a ball.  I was reading a really dumb book to her earlier this month, and on one of the pages a bunch of purple dragons are playing soccer.  She pointed to the soccer ball and said, "Bah!" And I was like OMG BABY GENIUS!  And she has never done it since. But then the other day, Eric was bringing in a gigantic tomato from our garden and Grace pointed to it and said, "Bah!" Pretty good! She smacks her lips together when she's hungry or thirsty, and she can sign "more" when she wants something else. She's an adventurous eater, and since we've had so much garden produce she's had a lot of tomato sauces, sauteed veggies, and even tried her first squash soup.  She loved 'em all! She points and points and points and we go wherever she points. Needless to say not much gets "done" around my house. (Although, a baby is growing into a person, all day everyday, on my watch.  So maybe "everything" is getting "done" around my house?) She can climb stairs (scary fast!), she loves to sit on little kid sized chairs and tap her feet, and the most novel thing in the world is to take toys, food, or clothing and chuck them as far as she can while seated in her high chair or especially on her changing table. I've made the mistake of saying "Oh no, you threw it down! Down to Chinatown!" while I retrieve whatever she threw, which she finds to be hilarious (I do too) and so I've basically been a major enabler to the most annoying game in the world. She loves Elmo. And kittens. And to look at photographs.  And she still loves FaceTime. And books.

"And then I said, 'Jay, say hi to your mother for me.'"
This month Grace got to spend lots of time traveling -- We went to visit her grandpa, spent a night with family near Chicago, spent a week in the Detroit area, and enjoyed a long weekend in the Northwoods of Wisconsin, where she met some very dear new friends. Now that we're back home, she's even started to take naps! Real naps, not just 40 minute cat naps. And her night sleeping is pretty great too. This is so exciting! I'm starting to understand the allure of having only one child.

We also started music classes this month, and it's been so interesting to watch her socialize with other young children.  She's an observer, my Gracie, and with each passing week she gets a little braver and more outgoing.  I know it will be years from now, but I can already tell how hard it's going to be to really let her go and explore the world on her own. And this is the part where I need to remember that her life is hers, and I am the lucky shepherd and guardian who helps guide and protect her while she explores all the wondrous things the world offers --and I'm going to soak up every ounce of joy she radiates as she goes.